Spirits and soaking lift our spirits in Lava Hot Springs

Updated December 24, 2017 - 8:41 am

LAVA HOT SPRINGS, Idaho — The KATS! Bureau at this writing is a warm retreat from icy conditions. We speak of the family business, the Lava Hot Springs Inn, in the tiny town of the same name.

Lava Hot Springs, my annual holiday respite, has a posted population of 407. But it fluctuates. I’d been told a year ago about 415 folks live here. A local business owner (OK, my father, George or “Daddy Kats”) has told me it’s actually 406.

The numbers are really all over the place.

A better gauge of Lava’s small-town characteristics are its traffic lights. There aren’t any. Earlier, my cousin Denise Sanna McClure and I walked out of the little (of course) Italian restaurant at Royal Inn Motel, having enjoyed the famous Royal Stromboli, which is a combination stromboli with pineapple added.

Vegas restaurants could learn something from the service at Royal Inn, by the way. Very friendly and attentive, and the place even delivers, though I can’t imagine they do much delivery. Seems half the town is in the restaurant on any given night.

The Royal Inn’s entrance is just off the corner of Main Street and Center Streets, Lava’s two primary (and, only) major thoroughfares. I exited and headed toward the corner, the common location of a crosswalk. There’s no crosswalk at the town’s only stop sign, but we are at least pretending one exists.

Knowing the terrain, Denise just walked directly onto Main Street, instinctively and correctly deducing the absence of any vehicular traffic at 8 p.m. Main Street at night in Lava is like a long pedestrian walkway, somewhat similar to a small Fremont Street Experience without the light canopy. And also, without buskers dressed as members of Kiss.

But there is experience in this area, and all over Idaho, really. Lava is a town covering less than a square mile. When I am home in VegasVille, I use resorts as a reference point for Lava’s size, “The MGM Grand casino floor is bigger than Lava Hot Springs.”

As readers over the years have known, Dad’s place is a wonderful counterbalance to my world in Las Vegas. The brick building sits on the edge of the Portneuf River — tubing down that waterway is a favorite activity among summertime thrill seekers. The original inn was built in 1924 as the Lava Hot Springs Sanatorium, mostly as a treatment center for World War I vets. In 1957 it became a rest home and assisted living facility, finally closing in 1985.

Daddy Kats bought the shuttered property in 1988, drilled for hot water and — boom — business and the bed and breakfast has been booming. The water is the draw, with hot baths all around the property filled by three wells that pump more than 600,000 gallons a day. Water is also sent to the Portneuf, and eventually the Snake River.

Lava’s location about two hours north of Salt Lake City off Interstate 15 draws all sorts of visitors, families heading to and from Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and Yellowstone National Park. Over the years I’ve soaked with folks visiting from Canada, Eastern Europe, all across the Intermountain West, even folks on their way to Vegas who wanted a soothing overnight stop. On this trip I met a couple from Truth Or Consequences, N.M., on their way to Northern California.

Lava attracted a celebrity TV personality a couple of years ago when Zak Bagans and his team descended on the Inn for an episode of “Ghost Adventures.” The show was to air sometime in 2016. Plans soon changed, and the episode was fast-tracked when Bagans turned up and the meters on his ghost-detecting equipment immediately started bouncing.

Apparently, spirits are all over the Inn, with Bagans famously describing the property as “a nuclear reactor for spirits.”

I finally met Zak, who also lives in Las Vegas, this past October at his just-opened Zak Bagans’ The Haunted Museum. We chatted before he held a candlelight vigil honoring victims of the Oct. 1 shooting.

I told Zak that I enjoyed his show about Lava, and that he visited a place that had great memories from my days as a kid in Idaho. I said to him, “If anywhere is haunted, it’s the Inn.” He laughed and said, “Your dad said the same thing, and we found that to be the case.”

For the record, I personally have never encountered a spirit in Lava. Spirited people, yes. Always.

It’s about time for more soaking, then a visit with my brother, Bill; and his wife, Lindsey and 4-year-old nephew, Austin. They drove here from Boise, and later in the trip we’ll all be there with the rest of the family. If you’ve not spent time with 4-year-old, do so. It’s a grounding experience. Today we had lunch at Freddy’s, and he introduced me to a favorite delicacy: French fries dipped in chocolate custard.

I feel some top chefs in VegasVille could make that dish a signature dessert, or appetizer, or something.

But the call has come down for me to stop the writing, with Dad threatening to confiscate my laptop and my iPhone. He still maintains his parenting authority. So, I stop.

I close out by wishing you only warmth and happiness this Christmas Day. Those of us in the Gem State wouldn’t have it any other way.

Contact John Katsilometes at jkatsilometes@reviewjournal.com. Follow @johnnykats on Twitter, @JohnnyKats1 on Instagram.

ad-high_impact_4
Entertainment
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-journal)
TLC by the Numbers
Watch Ruthless! at Las Vegas Little Theatre
The musical Ruthless! will be playing at Las Vegas Little Theatre from July 13-29. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Cadaver art and sword swallowing at The Dark Arts Market
Curator Erin Emrie talks about her inspiration for The Dark Arts Market at Cornish Pasty Co. in Las Vegas Tuesday, July 10, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
What to expect at Station Casinos' Fourth of July celebration
Station Casinos' is hosting its annual 4th of July celebration with Fireworks by Grucci. Fireworks scheduled to go off on Wednesday, July 4 around 9 p.m. at Green Valley Ranch Resort, Red Rock Resort, Fiesta Rancho and Texas Station. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Pawn Stars' Richard Harrison honored at memorial service
A memorial service was conducted for Richard "Old Man" Harrison at Palm Mortuary in Las Vegas on Sunday, July 1, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Tourists and locals enjoy Independence Day fireworks at Caesars Palace
Hundreds of tourists and locals gaze at the Independence Day fireworks show at Caesars Palace on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
5 must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
Five must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table.
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
"Pawn Stars" fans visit Richard Harrison's memorial at Gold & Silver Pawn
"Pawn Stars" fans from around the world visit the Gold & Silver Pawn Shop in Las Vegas following the passing of Richard "Old Man" Harrison on Monday, June 25, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Get a sneak peek at Palace Station's newest renovations
Station Casinos spokesperson Lori Nelson gives a first look at what Palace Station's $192 million renovation will bring. Some areas will begin opening to the public next week according to Nelson. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
You Can Only Get The 11-pound 8-person Burger In Las Vegas
You Can Only Get The 11-pound 8-person Burger In Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Paul McCartney is worth over $1 billion
Sir Paul McCartney is one of the most celebrated and accomplished musicians in history. He just turned 76 on June 18. McCartney grew to international fame with the Beatles and went on to become a wildly successful solo musician. Paul McCartney’s net worth is estimated at $1.2 billion, according to Celebrity Net Worth. In 2017, McCartney landed the No. 13 spot on Forbes’ list of the world’s highest-paid musicians, earning $54 million for the year. On Thursday, June 20, McCartney will release a double A-side single featuring two new songs, "I Don't Know" and "Come On to Me." McCartney has yet to announce a title of his new album or when it will be released. Th album is expected to be released before he headlines the Austin City Limits Music fest in October.
Bellagio's New Conservatory Brings Italian Summer To Las Vegas
Bellagio's New Conservatory Brings Italian Summer To Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Kari Curletto of Las Vegas put over 500 hours into making her toilet paper wedding dress. (Courtesy Kari Curletto)
Kari Curletto of Las Vegas put over 500 hours into making her toilet paper wedding dress. (Courtesy Kari Curletto)
The Real Crepe In Las Vegas Serves Authentic Crepes In The Style Of Brittany, France
The Real Crepe In Las Vegas Serves Authentic Crepes In The Style Of Brittany, France. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-journal)
New Marilyn Musical Brings Screen Icons Life To Strip
Paris Las Vegas hosts musical bio featuring new, old tunes. (Carol Cling Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vegas' hottest concerts of the summer
Vegas' hottest concerts of the summer
We Taste-tested The Best Doughnut Shops In Las Vegas
We Taste-tested The Best Doughnut Shops In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
5 must-see bands at Punk Rock Bowling 2018
5 must-see bands at Punk Rock Bowling 2018
Gabi Coffee & Bakery Is Like A Korean Speakeasy From The 1920s
Gabi Coffee & Bakery Is Like A Korean Speakeasy From The 1920s (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Five must-see acts at the Electric Daisy Carnival 2018
Five must-see acts at the Electric Daisy Carnival 2018
The "13 Reasons Why" mustang cruises down the Las Vegas Strip (Courtesy Netflix)
4 fun and fascinating museums in Las Vegas
U2 in Vegas through the years
U2 in Vegas through the years
Life
Camp Broadway teaches kids how to sing and dance
The Smith Center's 7th annual Camp Broadway musical theater program gives 150 kids ranging from ages 6-17 an opportunity to learn musical theater skills from industry professionals over a five-day period. Marcus Villagran/ Las Vegas Review-Journal @brokejournalist
Las Vegas police officer on being PETA's Sexiest Vegan Next Door
Las Vegas police officer David Anthony talks vegan lifestyle and how he feels about being voted PETA's sexiest Vegan next door from his home on Monday, July 9, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
'NO H8' Campaign comes to Las Vegas
Hundreds of locals participate in the NO H8 campaign founded by Adam Bouska and Jeff Parshley as a response to Proposition 8, a California ban on same-sex marriage. The campaign has since evolved to represent equal treatment for all. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Star Wars and Golden Knights mashup at downtown art shop
Star Wars and Vegas Golden Knights fans attend the Boba Fett Golden Knight Paint Class at The Bubblegum Gallery in Las Vegas, Friday, June 29, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Bark-Andre Furry meets Capitals superfan Ovie the Bulldog
Two of NHL's furriest fans met at the Forum Shops in Caesars Palace on Tuesday, June 18, 2018, in Las Vegas. Vegas Golden Knights superfan Bark-Andre Furry and Washington Capitals superfan Ovie the Bulldog shared a plate of meatballs and spaghetti with help from Logan, "The Girl with the Hat." (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Art Bell’s Top 10 Shows
A selection of radio host Art Bell’s most popular shows.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
ad-infeed_1
ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like