Spirits and soaking lift our spirits in Lava Hot Springs

Updated December 24, 2017 - 8:41 am

LAVA HOT SPRINGS, Idaho — The KATS! Bureau at this writing is a warm retreat from icy conditions. We speak of the family business, the Lava Hot Springs Inn, in the tiny town of the same name.

Lava Hot Springs, my annual holiday respite, has a posted population of 407. But it fluctuates. I’d been told a year ago about 415 folks live here. A local business owner (OK, my father, George or “Daddy Kats”) has told me it’s actually 406.

The numbers are really all over the place.

A better gauge of Lava’s small-town characteristics are its traffic lights. There aren’t any. Earlier, my cousin Denise Sanna McClure and I walked out of the little (of course) Italian restaurant at Royal Inn Motel, having enjoyed the famous Royal Stromboli, which is a combination stromboli with pineapple added.

Vegas restaurants could learn something from the service at Royal Inn, by the way. Very friendly and attentive, and the place even delivers, though I can’t imagine they do much delivery. Seems half the town is in the restaurant on any given night.

The Royal Inn’s entrance is just off the corner of Main Street and Center Streets, Lava’s two primary (and, only) major thoroughfares. I exited and headed toward the corner, the common location of a crosswalk. There’s no crosswalk at the town’s only stop sign, but we are at least pretending one exists.

Knowing the terrain, Denise just walked directly onto Main Street, instinctively and correctly deducing the absence of any vehicular traffic at 8 p.m. Main Street at night in Lava is like a long pedestrian walkway, somewhat similar to a small Fremont Street Experience without the light canopy. And also, without buskers dressed as members of Kiss.

But there is experience in this area, and all over Idaho, really. Lava is a town covering less than a square mile. When I am home in VegasVille, I use resorts as a reference point for Lava’s size, “The MGM Grand casino floor is bigger than Lava Hot Springs.”

As readers over the years have known, Dad’s place is a wonderful counterbalance to my world in Las Vegas. The brick building sits on the edge of the Portneuf River — tubing down that waterway is a favorite activity among summertime thrill seekers. The original inn was built in 1924 as the Lava Hot Springs Sanatorium, mostly as a treatment center for World War I vets. In 1957 it became a rest home and assisted living facility, finally closing in 1985.

Daddy Kats bought the shuttered property in 1988, drilled for hot water and — boom — business and the bed and breakfast has been booming. The water is the draw, with hot baths all around the property filled by three wells that pump more than 600,000 gallons a day. Water is also sent to the Portneuf, and eventually the Snake River.

Lava’s location about two hours north of Salt Lake City off Interstate 15 draws all sorts of visitors, families heading to and from Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and Yellowstone National Park. Over the years I’ve soaked with folks visiting from Canada, Eastern Europe, all across the Intermountain West, even folks on their way to Vegas who wanted a soothing overnight stop. On this trip I met a couple from Truth Or Consequences, N.M., on their way to Northern California.

Lava attracted a celebrity TV personality a couple of years ago when Zak Bagans and his team descended on the Inn for an episode of “Ghost Adventures.” The show was to air sometime in 2016. Plans soon changed, and the episode was fast-tracked when Bagans turned up and the meters on his ghost-detecting equipment immediately started bouncing.

Apparently, spirits are all over the Inn, with Bagans famously describing the property as “a nuclear reactor for spirits.”

I finally met Zak, who also lives in Las Vegas, this past October at his just-opened Zak Bagans’ The Haunted Museum. We chatted before he held a candlelight vigil honoring victims of the Oct. 1 shooting.

I told Zak that I enjoyed his show about Lava, and that he visited a place that had great memories from my days as a kid in Idaho. I said to him, “If anywhere is haunted, it’s the Inn.” He laughed and said, “Your dad said the same thing, and we found that to be the case.”

For the record, I personally have never encountered a spirit in Lava. Spirited people, yes. Always.

It’s about time for more soaking, then a visit with my brother, Bill; and his wife, Lindsey and 4-year-old nephew, Austin. They drove here from Boise, and later in the trip we’ll all be there with the rest of the family. If you’ve not spent time with 4-year-old, do so. It’s a grounding experience. Today we had lunch at Freddy’s, and he introduced me to a favorite delicacy: French fries dipped in chocolate custard.

I feel some top chefs in VegasVille could make that dish a signature dessert, or appetizer, or something.

But the call has come down for me to stop the writing, with Dad threatening to confiscate my laptop and my iPhone. He still maintains his parenting authority. So, I stop.

I close out by wishing you only warmth and happiness this Christmas Day. Those of us in the Gem State wouldn’t have it any other way.

Contact John Katsilometes at jkatsilometes@reviewjournal.com. Follow @johnnykats on Twitter, @JohnnyKats1 on Instagram.

ad-high_impact_4
Entertainment
Jason Aldean talks about the possibility of a Las Vegas residency
Country superstar Jason Aldean discusses his feelings about playing in Las Vegas and says he'd be interested in a Las Vegas residency when the time is right at the iHeart Radio Music Festival in Las Vegas on September 21, 2018.(John Katsilometes/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Block 16 Urban Food Hall Serves Favorite Foods From Across The US
Block 16 Urban Food Hall Serves Favorite Foods From Across The US (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Benny the Skating Dog could be the next Golden Knights on-ice entertainment
Benny the Skating Dog could be the next Golden Knights on-ice entertainment (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Who To Watch At Life Is Beautiful
Life Is Beautiful Setup
Workers preparing Fremont street for this weekend's Life is Beautiful festival, on Wednesday, September 19, 2018. Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal
The 46th annual Greek Food Festival will feed 25,000 people in Las Vegas
Madame Tussauds Has The Newest VR Experience On The Strip
Madame Tussauds Has The Newest VR Experience On The Strip. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Zia Records Move
Zias Records is moving from its Sahara Avenue and Arville Street location to a bigger store. (Mat Luscheck/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Students At The International Contortion Convention In Las Vegas Learn How To Bend And Twist Their Bodies
Students At The International Contortion Convention In Las Vegas Learn How To Bend And Twist Their Bodies. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Video from Fertitta wedding Sep. 1
video from @wedstagrams of Fertitta wedding at Red Rock Resort
You Can Get Vegan Unicorn Toast In Downtown Las Vegas
You Can Get Vegan Unicorn Toast In Downtown Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Five must-see bands at Psycho Las Vegas 2018
Five must-see bands at Psycho Las Vegas 2018
Zuma's Ice Cube Carving Is Satisfying To Watch
Zuma's Ice Cube Carving Is Satisfying To Watch (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Therapy In Downtown Las Vegas Serves Cast Iron S'mores
Therapy In Downtown Las Vegas Serves Cast Iron S'mores. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New Brunch Spot The Stove Makes Unicorn Hot Chocolate And Bananas Foster Pancakes
New Brunch Spot The Stove Makes Unicorn Hot Chocolate And Bananas Foster Pancakes. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-journal)
TLC by the Numbers
Watch Ruthless! at Las Vegas Little Theatre
The musical Ruthless! will be playing at Las Vegas Little Theatre from July 13-29. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Cadaver art and sword swallowing at The Dark Arts Market
Curator Erin Emrie talks about her inspiration for The Dark Arts Market at Cornish Pasty Co. in Las Vegas Tuesday, July 10, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
What to expect at Station Casinos' Fourth of July celebration
Station Casinos' is hosting its annual 4th of July celebration with Fireworks by Grucci. Fireworks scheduled to go off on Wednesday, July 4 around 9 p.m. at Green Valley Ranch Resort, Red Rock Resort, Fiesta Rancho and Texas Station. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Pawn Stars' Richard Harrison honored at memorial service
A memorial service was conducted for Richard "Old Man" Harrison at Palm Mortuary in Las Vegas on Sunday, July 1, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Tourists and locals enjoy Independence Day fireworks at Caesars Palace
Hundreds of tourists and locals gaze at the Independence Day fireworks show at Caesars Palace on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
5 must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
Five must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table.
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
"Pawn Stars" fans visit Richard Harrison's memorial at Gold & Silver Pawn
"Pawn Stars" fans from around the world visit the Gold & Silver Pawn Shop in Las Vegas following the passing of Richard "Old Man" Harrison on Monday, June 25, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Life
Celebrity photographer dedicates dance book to Las Vegas shooting victims
Behind the scenes with local celebrity photographer Jerry Metellus as he talks about his Dance For Vegas coffee book dedicated to the 58 victims of the October 1 shooting. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @marcusvillagran
Dreamsickle Kids Foundation founder Gina Glass talks awareness
Gina Glass, 35, founded Dreamsickle Kids Foundation to raise awareness for sickle cell disease in Nevada. (Jessie Bekker/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Meadows School founding kindergarten teacher retires after 34 years at the school
Linda Verbon, founder of the The Meadows School's kindergarten program and the first faculty member hired at the school, retired in the spring after 34 years at The Meadows. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Kids become firefighters at Fire Station 98 open house
Henderson residents wore fire hats, learned about CPR and met firefighters at the Fire Station 98 open house Saturday, August 11, 2018. (Marcus Villagran Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
People from all over the world attend RollerCon 2018
RollerCon 2018 is a five-day convention focused on the roller derby community and culture at Westgate in Las Vegas. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Camp Broadway teaches kids how to sing and dance
The Smith Center's seventh annual Camp Broadway musical theater program gives 150 kids ages 6-17 an opportunity to learn musical theater skills from industry professionals over a five-day period. Marcus Villagran/ Las Vegas Review-Journal @brokejournalist
Las Vegas police officer on being PETA's Sexiest Vegan Next Door
Las Vegas police officer David Anthony talks vegan lifestyle and how he feels about being voted PETA's sexiest Vegan next door from his home on Monday, July 9, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
'NO H8' Campaign comes to Las Vegas
Hundreds of locals participate in the NO H8 campaign founded by Adam Bouska and Jeff Parshley as a response to Proposition 8, a California ban on same-sex marriage. The campaign has since evolved to represent equal treatment for all. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Star Wars and Golden Knights mashup at downtown art shop
Star Wars and Vegas Golden Knights fans attend the Boba Fett Golden Knight Paint Class at The Bubblegum Gallery in Las Vegas, Friday, June 29, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like