To go global, Blue Man Group sought Cirque

China will soon be invaded by an army of Spandex-clad acrobats and their bald, blue-painted friends.

New creative partners Cirque du Soleil and Blue Man Group are zeroing in on the world’s most populous country. That was evident Thursday after both companies announced Cirque’s acquisition of the Blue Men.

“We are going to tour China for the first time, and we are going to have a huge residence show of the magnitude of any of our Vegas shows,” Cirque du Soleil President and Chief Executive Officer Daniel Lamarre said Thursday morning, shortly after the announcement. “We are looking to make entries into seven cities in China with our touring shows, and move Blue Man Group into China with us.”

The show is “Kooza,” expected to debut in October 2018 in Hangzhou, which sits at the tip of Hangzhou Bay in eastern China, separating Shanghai and Ningbo. The city’s population exceeds 9 million, outpacing any city in the U.S. The theater is to be 1,500 square feet; the shows are to run eight performances a week.

Cirque is also reportedly developing a 13-show TV series, a kind of “Cirque’s Got Talent,” as a run-up to the “Kooza” premiere.

The catalyst for Cirque’s vault into mainland China is that country’s investment conglomerate Fosun Capital Group. Fosun has a 20 percent minority stake in Cirque (the majority owner is San Francisco investment company TPG Capital), but plays a significant role advising on business matters in China.

“As we have tried to make a China connection for Cirque, nobody told me no, but nobody told me yes, either,” Lamarre said. “We were having a lot of meetings, good meetings, but nothing concrete was happening. Now people are saying yes and committing.”

Blue Man Group co-founder Chris Wink said his company was interested in the Cirque deal specifically because of the incredible audience potential in China.

“When we met, the question was, ‘What’s next for us? How do we get to the next level?’ ” Wink said Thursday. “We can keep cruising along at our own level, but we want to get to China, South America and other places. We are proud of how we have refreshed our show, how it has progressed over the years, but we haven’t been able to bust out of our own shell and structure.

“This partnership with Cirque will allow us to do things we couldn’t do before in terms of marketing and moving to other parts of the world in a true trans-media company.”

Both Lamarre and Wink stress that the creative components of Cirque and Blue Man Group will remain separate.

Phil (Stanton), Wink’s co-founding partner in BMG) and Chris are in charge of the creative content of Blue Man Group,” Lamarre said. “This was important to us from the very start, respecting and accepting the creative chemistry of Blue Man Group while promoting them around the world.”

There is an artistic divide: Don’t expect the characters in “Ka” to don blue skull caps and start drumming on PVC pipes, or the Blue Men to try out the Korean plank.

“We are not re-branding Blue Man Group as Cirque,” Lamarre said. “We will just have many more shows, Blue Man Group shows, performing around the world.”

Wink recalls meeting the Cirque officials for the first time more than a year ago in Montreal, the Cirque headquarters known as “The Mother Ship.”

“It was just meeting them that sold me, because we had talked to some interested parties with deep pockets who didn’t seem to get what we were doing,” Wink said. “But with Daniel and the people at Cirque, it was just, ‘God, this is great,’ like meeting lost cousins. They are just a bigger version of us, wild-eyed kids trapped in grown-up bodies.”

John Katsilometes’ column runs daily in the A section. Contact him at jkatsilometes@reviewjournal.com. Follow @johnnykats on Twitter, @JohnnyKats1 on Instagram.

ad-high_impact_4
Entertainment
Jason Aldean talks about the possibility of a Las Vegas residency
Country superstar Jason Aldean discusses his feelings about playing in Las Vegas and says he'd be interested in a Las Vegas residency when the time is right at the iHeart Radio Music Festival in Las Vegas on September 21, 2018.(John Katsilometes/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Block 16 Urban Food Hall Serves Favorite Foods From Across The US
Block 16 Urban Food Hall Serves Favorite Foods From Across The US (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Benny the Skating Dog could be the next Golden Knights on-ice entertainment
Benny the Skating Dog could be the next Golden Knights on-ice entertainment (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Who To Watch At Life Is Beautiful
Life Is Beautiful Setup
Workers preparing Fremont street for this weekend's Life is Beautiful festival, on Wednesday, September 19, 2018. Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal
The 46th annual Greek Food Festival will feed 25,000 people in Las Vegas
Madame Tussauds Has The Newest VR Experience On The Strip
Madame Tussauds Has The Newest VR Experience On The Strip. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Zia Records Move
Zias Records is moving from its Sahara Avenue and Arville Street location to a bigger store. (Mat Luscheck/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Students At The International Contortion Convention In Las Vegas Learn How To Bend And Twist Their Bodies
Students At The International Contortion Convention In Las Vegas Learn How To Bend And Twist Their Bodies. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Video from Fertitta wedding Sep. 1
video from @wedstagrams of Fertitta wedding at Red Rock Resort
You Can Get Vegan Unicorn Toast In Downtown Las Vegas
You Can Get Vegan Unicorn Toast In Downtown Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Five must-see bands at Psycho Las Vegas 2018
Five must-see bands at Psycho Las Vegas 2018
Zuma's Ice Cube Carving Is Satisfying To Watch
Zuma's Ice Cube Carving Is Satisfying To Watch (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Therapy In Downtown Las Vegas Serves Cast Iron S'mores
Therapy In Downtown Las Vegas Serves Cast Iron S'mores. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New Brunch Spot The Stove Makes Unicorn Hot Chocolate And Bananas Foster Pancakes
New Brunch Spot The Stove Makes Unicorn Hot Chocolate And Bananas Foster Pancakes. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-journal)
TLC by the Numbers
Watch Ruthless! at Las Vegas Little Theatre
The musical Ruthless! will be playing at Las Vegas Little Theatre from July 13-29. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Cadaver art and sword swallowing at The Dark Arts Market
Curator Erin Emrie talks about her inspiration for The Dark Arts Market at Cornish Pasty Co. in Las Vegas Tuesday, July 10, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
What to expect at Station Casinos' Fourth of July celebration
Station Casinos' is hosting its annual 4th of July celebration with Fireworks by Grucci. Fireworks scheduled to go off on Wednesday, July 4 around 9 p.m. at Green Valley Ranch Resort, Red Rock Resort, Fiesta Rancho and Texas Station. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Pawn Stars' Richard Harrison honored at memorial service
A memorial service was conducted for Richard "Old Man" Harrison at Palm Mortuary in Las Vegas on Sunday, July 1, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Tourists and locals enjoy Independence Day fireworks at Caesars Palace
Hundreds of tourists and locals gaze at the Independence Day fireworks show at Caesars Palace on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
5 must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
Five must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table.
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
"Pawn Stars" fans visit Richard Harrison's memorial at Gold & Silver Pawn
"Pawn Stars" fans from around the world visit the Gold & Silver Pawn Shop in Las Vegas following the passing of Richard "Old Man" Harrison on Monday, June 25, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
ad-infeed_1
ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like