Nightlife impresario looms large in downtown Las Vegas music scene

Vegas Voices is a weekly series highlighting notable Las Vegans.

The shiny silver acoustic guitar positioned behind the bar matches the glimmering, custom-made sport coat of the Volvo-sized man currently standing atop it.

“Big Daddy” Carlos Adley’s joints creak a bit as he jumps down from his perch, his picture having just been snapped during a photo session.

“Twenty years of football,” he says by way of an explanatory exhale.

Close your eyes and imagine what a former pro football prospect turned Hollywood and Las Vegas nightclub impresario might look like, and there’s a good chance that some approximation of Adley’s likeness looms into the mind’s eye: As big and flashy as a chrome-plated boulder, he’s a commanding, albeit friendly presence, omnipresent cowboy hat and Chanel shades contrasted with snakeskin boots and a neck swathed in gleaming chains.

The music venue in which he stands mirrors Adley’s rustic-luxe look: Massive, illuminated horseshoes pulsate beneath deer antler chandeliers; ample cattle-print fabrics brighten the room alongside red and white leather VIP couches, a plush velvet curtain hangs in front of the stage.

“I coined it ‘Tex-Mex swanky chic,’ subtitled: ‘Sinatra on LSD.’ ” Adley says of the Fremont Country Club’s decor, which he designed with his wife and fellow nightlife entrepreneur, Ava Berman.

Next door is Backstage Bar & Billiards, the smaller of the two sister venues, both housed in the old Sears building downtown.

Five years ago, Adley opened them in the then-indie-rock-centric Fremont Arts District.

Since then, the two venues have hosted hundreds of local and national acts, helping cement the area as one of Vegas’ most vibrant music destinations.

A musical multi-hyphenate, Adley’s a venue-owner-restaurateur-promoter-musician-philanthropist who’s been immersed in nightlife since he was a teenager working for the singer of Van Halen in his native L.A.

“I firmly believe that, short of curing cancer and going to the moon, you can do anything you want,” he says. “And I’m a living example of that.”

Taking a break from running his club and saving the whales via his Ocean Aid nonprofit, the nightlife lifer reflects on his career as Fremont Country Club and Backstage Bar & Billiards turn 5:

Review-Journal: So, how exactly does one go from being an NFL prospect to a nightclub impresario?

Adley: One of my first jobs was bouncing for David Lee Roth when I was 15, 16 years old (at Roth’s after-hours club The Zero). I grew up in Hollywood, hanging out at punk rock shows, and eventually started bouncing. I met David at a club called the Cathay de Grande. I just kind of worked my way in. I had a fake ID. The first night I worked for him, Madonna came up and had like 15 people with her. I was like, ‘You ain’t gettin’ in. I don’t care who you are. Beat it.’ (Roth) saw me, he was like, ‘Buddy, you’ll always have a job with me.’

By the time I was 18, 19, I was like the door god, because you have to understand, The Zero was the club. This was the club that everyone went to when everything else closed. It was the Studio 54 of Hollywood, if you will, but a lot smaller and more intimate. On any given night, you’d be partying with Miss September and Tiny Tim, just whoever. It was so eclectic, so amazing. I saw David, he was arguably the biggest rock star in the world, and he’s throwing parties, walking out with like 20, 30 grand in cash a night. I was like, ‘That’s what I’m going to do.’ And within a couple years, I said, ‘I know everybody here. Everybody knows me. I’m just going to start doing my own clubs.’ By the time I was 20, 21, I was running a couple of the biggest clubs in Hollywood.

When you opened this place five years ago, the culture of downtown was different, dominated by the indie rock scene. What was the allure?

I just saw a void that is so imperative when you’re trying to create any kind of cultural and musical renaissance. I felt the need to do what we do, which is bring live entertainment, to the greatest part of Las Vegas, which is downtown. What downtown represents is timeless.

Musically speaking, what did you want to bring here that you felt was missing?

The versatility that would allow world-class national acts to come downtown that have never come downtown before. What had already been created was something for the indie scene, something for the locals. What we wanted to do was enhance that, but at the same time, every genre of music that we would bring forth, we made a point to bring iconic acts. So if we’re going to have ska one night, we’re going to have Fishbone. If we’re going to have rockabilly, we’re going to have Wanda Jackson. If we’re going to have industrial, we’re going to have Ministry. That was the whole concept.

Did you scout a lot of locales in the area? How did you come up with this spot.

The story starts when I was going to do this concept at the Tropicana with Vince Vaughn and a few of my other Hollywood friends. Then that corporation at the time went Chapter 11, things went south and we decided, ‘Well, if it wasn’t at the Tropicana, which is as old school as it gets on the Strip, we’re going to take it downtown.’ We looked at several locations, and the first was Binion’s — we partnered up with (Binion’s and Four Queens owner) Terry Caudill. In the interim, Mayor Goodman and (business development director for the city of Las Vegas) Scott Adams got ahold of me and said, ‘Listen, you might want to throw your hat in for this because we have the old Sears building.’

The beauty with this location is that we knew that we could do two venues under the same umbrella. I always dreamed, ‘What if CBGB’s and Max’s Kansas City were right next to each other, and on any given night, you could see one genre of music and then another genre by just be-bopping right next door?’ That’s what we were so excited about.

What was the genesis of your nonprofit Ocean Aid?

I spent a lot of time as a child on the North Shore of Hawaii. When I went back in recent years, I saw what was happening to Hawaii and the Pacific Rim: You have five gyres, which are basically plastic islands of pollution, the largest one is twice the size of Texas, that sit in the Pacific Rim, so any time there’s a storm or anything like that, it acts like a cheese grater and all that debris just kills their shores. Within the next five years, if nothing’s done, the fishing population will be decimated and by 2050, there will be more plastic pollution in the ocean than actual fish. So we decided through the connectivity of music to bring people together for this cause (with an annual benefit music fest in Hawaii). We’re saving turtles, we’re saving the whales, we’re saving the endangered species and, in turn, ensuring our future for generations to come.

Getting to know: “Big Daddy” Carlos Adley

Pets

I have two Chihuahuas. I have a 27-year old son who is gone now, so our babies, our kids, are two little chihuahuas: Lupe and Margarita.

Favorite movie

I’ll give you a top three, in no particular order, and this is a revolving door: ‘Casino,’ because I love the history of Las Vegas and Scorsese does documentaries, basically; ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest;’ and back to Scorsese with ‘Goodfellas.’ And ‘Godfather II’ would be up there. And ‘Scarface.’ I love gangster movies because I grew up in the subcultures of big cities and that kind of went hand in hand. I saw a lot of it. I was never immersed in that lifestyle, because I never had to be, but a lot of my friends were gangsters.

Favorite indulgence

The spirituality of music — I don’t know if I consider it an indulgence as much as a necessity, because I couldn’t live without it.

Hobbies

My vocation is my avocation.

Food could you eat every day

My food from my restaurant, (L.A.’s) Velvet Margarita, which is all based on my grandmother’s cooking, right here (reveals tattoo of her on his forearm). The menu at my restaurant is all my favorite dishes growing up, from not only my grandma, but my aunts and uncles and so forth. That’s why I could never get tired of eating it, because it’s what I grew up on.

Contact Jason Bracelin at jbracelin@reviewjournal.com or 702-383-0476. Follow @JasonBracelin on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Local
Mount Charleston Gets Heavy Snow, Fog
Mount Charleston saw heavy snow today, and fog in lower elevations as a cold front swept across the Las Vegas Valley. (Benjamin Hager/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Thick fog blanketed Las Vegas Valley on Tuesday
Thick fog blanketed Las Vegas Valley on Tuesday. The National Weather Service.forecast called for a 50 percent chance of rain. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
Time lapse video of fog covering the Strip
The Las Vegas Strip is shrouded in fog Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Tony Spilotro's Las Vegas home for sale — VIDEO
The former Las Vegas home of Chicago mob enforcer, Tony Spilotro, is now for sale. Spilotro, who was portrayed by Joe Pesci in the film Casino, is the original owner of the home at 4675 Balfour Drive, built in 1974. (Samia DeCubas/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Buffalo Drive And Mountains Edge Parkway Fatal
Las Vegas police and the Nevada Highway Patrol are investigating a fatal crash in the southwest valley on Saturday afternoon. (Richard Brian/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
UNLV's Joel Ntambwe on his play
UNLV forward Joel Ntambwe talks about his play at this point in the season. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Sam Schmidt chats about hectic off-season
IndyCar team owner Sam Schmidt and lead driver James Hinchcliffe chat about the hectic off-season at the SpeedVegas high-performance driving facility outside of Las Vegas, Nevada, on January 10, 2018. (Ron Kantowski/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
R-J's Mark Anderson on UNLV's victory
Review-Journal sports reporter Mark Anderson recaps UNLV's victory at New Mexico. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
UNLV's Noah Robotham on the win at New Mexico
UNLV guard Noah Robotham talks about winning at New Mexico on Jan. 8, 2019. (Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
UNLV's Kris Clyburn on big 3 vs. New Mexico
UNLV guard Kris Clyburn talks about his key 3-pointer against New Mexico. (Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Marvin Menzies on beating New Mexico
UNLV basketball coach Marvin Menzies talks about UNLV's win at New Mexico on January 8, 2019. (Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New HOV Ramp Scheduled to Open in March
New HOV ramp scheduled to open in March of 2019.
American Preparatory Academy part of charter school growth in Las Vegas
American Preparatory Academy in Las Vegas has a waiting list of students who want to attend. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Wheelchair tournament at UNLV
Cesar Robledo talks about wheelchair basketball and what it means for players to compete during the Wheelchair Basketball Division I-II Tournament at UNLV in Las Vegas, Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019.
Snow in Henderson on New Year's Eve morning
Light snow flurries in Anthem Highlands in Henderson on Monday morning, the last day of 2018.
Marvin Menzies on UNLV's trip to Hawaii
UNLV basketball coach Marvin Menzies talks about the upcoming trip to Hawaii. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Raiders Stadium Timelapse
Construction on the new Raiders stadium continues in Las Vegas.
Pinecrest Academy Horizon principal wins Milken Educator Award
Tony Sanchez on UNLV's recruiting class
UNLV football coach Tony Sanchez talks about his early signing class. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
The Magical Forest at Opportunity Village
Opportunity Village's Magical Forest added 1 million lights and a synchronized music show visible from all over the forest this year. The holiday attraction, which began in 1991, has a train, rides, food and entertainment along with the light displays. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Siegel Cares delivers bagels to families in need
Since Thanksgiving, Mark Lenoir of Siegel Cares, has been delivering leftover Bagelmania bagels to families staying at the Siegel Suites.
Dan Barnson steps down
Arbor View football coach Dan Barnson stepped down Friday after 12 seasons at the helm. Under Barnson, the Aggies won 104 games and became one of the top programs in Las Vegas. The Aggies went 12-2 in 2018 and won a region championship for the first time in program history. Barnson loves Friday nights, but said the 12-month commitment was getting exhausting.
NFR 2018 Highlights
NFR 2018 highlights from every round of this years rodeo.
NFR 2018 Round 10 Highlights
NFR 2018 Round 10 Highlights of the 2018 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo from the Thomas & Mack in Las Vegas, Nevada. (CBS Sports Network/PRCA)
NFR- Joe Frost
NFR Bull Rider Joe Frost talks about the difference in bulls and his family legacy with Cassie Soto before the last round of the National Finals Rodeo.
Herm Edwards on LV Bowl loss
Arizona State coach Herm Edwards talks about the loss in the Las Vegas Bowl. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Fresno State linebacker George Helmuth after LV Bowl
Linebacker George Helmuth talks about Fresno State's turnaround. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Youth cancer survivor receives gift bat at Winter Meetings
Cancer survivor Steven Mondragon, baseball player at Los Altos High in Hacienda Heights, California, received a complimentary bamboo bat during the Baseball Winter Meetings in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Dec. 12, 2018. (Ron Kantowski/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
NFR Day 9 Highlights
Highlights from round 9 of the 2018 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo from the Thomas & Mack in Las Vegas, Nevada. (CBS Sports Network/PRCA)
NFR 2018- Will Lummus Leads in Steer Wrestling
As NFR 2018 enters day nine, steer wrestler Will Lummus continues to see his name at the top of the standings. Las Vegas Review Journal host Cassie Soto speaks with the Mississippi native about his excitement to be participating in his first ever NFR.
Tony Sanchez wraps up the UNLV season
UNLV football coach Tony Sanchez wraps up the season. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Entertainment
CES final night showcases Drake at XS Nightclub
Drake performed for CES attendees and club-goers at XS Nightclub in Encore at Wynn Las Vegas in the early morning hours of Friday, Jan. 11, 2019. (John Katsilometes Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES Happy Hour party at Hangover Suite at Caesars Palace
Conventioneers mingled during the Hardware Massive CES 2019 Happy Hour Bash at The Hangover Suite at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
CES 2019 Has A Cordless Hair Dryer
CES Has A Cordless Hair Dryer (Janna Karel/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES Opening Party in Omnia Nightclub at Caesars Palace
CES conventioneers packed Omnia Nightclub at Caesars Palace, and let loose as they danced to DJs into the night. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Print intricate designs, your pet or your face on your nails
Print intricate designs, your pet or your face on your nails (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES 2019: Panel talks Impossible Burger 2.0
Panel talks Impossible Burger at CES during launch at Border Grill on Monday, Jan. 7. (Ben Hager/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Momofuku Makes A Cocktail With Bok Choy And Beets
Momofuku Makes A Cocktail With Bok Choy And Beets (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Dream of AJ Montgomery
AJ Montgomery lost part of his leg in a vehicle accident but found his dream as a performer in “Le Reve.” (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Kelly Clinton-Holmes of the Stirling Club
John Katsilometes chats with Kelly Clinton-Holmes, director of the Stirling Club's New Year's Eve entertainment.
Month-by-month entertainment coming in 2019
“True Detective” Season 3, HBO (Jan. 13) Travis Scott, T-Mobile Arena (Feb. 6) Robbie Williams, Encore Theatre at Wynn Las Vegas (March 6, 8, 9, 13, 15 and 16) “Game of Thrones” Season 8, HBO (April) Electric Daisy Carnival, Las Vegas Motor Speedway (May 17-19) “Fiddler on the Roof,” The Smith Center (June 4-9) “The Lion King” (July 19) Psycho Las Vegas, Mandalay Bay (Aug. 16-18) Life is Beautiful, downtown Las Vegas (Sept. 20-22) “Tim Burton @ the Neon Museum” (Oct. 15) “Frozen 2” (Nov. 22) “Star Wars: Episode IX” (Dec. 20)
Lacey Huszcza invites you to find something to love at the Las Vegas Philharmonic
Lacey Huszcza, executive director of the Las Vegas Philharmonic talks about the orchestra's wealth of programming. (Janna Karel/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Gina Marinelli offers La Strega preview
Gina Marinelli used a pop-up New Year’s Eve dinner at Starboard Tack to preview items she’ll feature at her new Summerlin restaurant, La Strega. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New Year’s Eve at Sparrow + Wolf
Sparrow + Wolf’s New Year’s Eve party was a sort of official unveiling of its newly renovated space. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Las Vegas NYE Fireworks - VIDEO
The full show: A spectacular view from the rooftop of the Trump International Hotel as 80,000 pyrotechnics illuminated the Las Vegas Strip at the stroke of midnight. Fireworks by Grucci choreographed launches from the Stratosphere, the Venetian, Treasure Island, Caesars Palace, Planet Hollywood, Aria and MGM Grand.
Debra Kelleher Of The Stirling Club
Debra Kelleher, DK Hospitality President talks with Johnny Kats about the reopening of the Stirling Club.
Richard Ditton Of The Stirling Club
Richard Ditton, an investment partner of the Stirling Club talks with Johnny Kats about the reopening of the club.
NYE at the Stirling Club
John Katsilometes reports from the reopening of the Stirling Club on New Year's Eve 2018.
Michael Stapleton of the Stirling Club
Michael Stapleton, COO of the Stirling Club talks with Johnny Kats about the reopening of the club.
Recap the Countdown on Fremont Street — VIDEO
Nearly 40,000 people packed Fremont Street to enjoy America's Party Downtown. As the tradition stands, Las Vegas Mayor Carolyn Goodman counted down the clock on the 3rd Street Stage, alongside her husband and former mayor, Oscar Goodman.
New Year's Eve live from the Las Vegas Strip Bellagio Fountains - Video
Reporter Aaron Drawhorn near the Bellagio Fountains as hundreds of thousands gather to celebrate New Year's Eve in Las Vegas
Ryan Reaves describes the flavors in Training Day beer
Ryan Reaves talks about the flavor of Training Day, the new beer from 7Five Brewing that was launched at the PKWY Tavern on West Flamingo Road. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Ryan Reaves describes his new beer
Golden Knights winger Ryan Reaves talks about his new beer from 7Five Brewing at a launch party at PKWY Tavern on West Flamingo Road. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vegas' five biggest NYE concerts
Imagine Dragons at The Chelsea at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Lady Gaga at The Park Theater at Park MGM, Maroon 5 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center, Bruno Mars at T-Mobile Arena, and Tenacious D at The Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.
Celebrate New Years Day, Hangover Day and Bloody Mary Day at Cabo Wabo
Celebrate New Years Day, Hangover Day and Bloody Mary Day at Cabo Wabo (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Michael Symon, chef and owner of Mabel's BBQ, talks about his first Las Vegas restaurant
Michael Symon, chef and owner of Mabel's BBQ, talks about his first Las Vegas restaurant. Bizuayehu Tesfaye @bizutesfaye
New American Eagle flagship on the Las Vegas Strip lets you customize your clothing
American Eagle flagship on the Las Vegas Strip lets you customize your clothing
Bellagio Conservatory display is Majestic Holiday Magic
Majestic Holiday Magic at the Bellagio Conservatory
Las Vegas Ready for 2019 NYE Fireworks Show
The city of Las Vegas is ready to celebrate "America's Party" with a new and improved fireworks show that will pay tribute to the Golden Knights.
Sugar Factory makes a shareable Christmas cocktail
If you’re looking to share holiday cheer, this goblet is big enough to split among at least a few friends. The bubbly punch is made with cherry vodka, cranberry juice and a scoop of Christmas tree gummy candies — just in case it’s not sufficiently sweet.
New Year's Eve fireworks are ready to fly in Las Vegas
Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority and Fireworks by Grucci unveil details of “America’s Party 2019” New Year's Eve fireworks and entertainment extravaganza during a news conference at the Fashion Show Mall in Las Vegas Thursday, Dec. 20, 2018. (K.M. Cannon Las Vegas Review-Journal)
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like