Ducks’ Andrew Cogliano plays 800th consecutive NHL game

No team in the NHL has been hit harder by injuries this season than the Anaheim Ducks. But forward Andrew Cogliano has remained healthy.

Of course he has.

Cogliano could swallow a skate for breakfast and wash it down with a bottle of rancid Yoo-hoo and he’d still be in the lineup that night.

Cogliano, the NHL’s Iron Man, played in his 800th consecutive game Saturday night when the Ducks visited the San Jose Sharks, the fourth-longest streak in league history.

SHORT DESCRIPTION (Las Vegas Review-Journal)

“There’s odd times when it pops in my head and you kind of wonder,” Cogliano told reporters last week. “You have a little bit of a second where you say it’s pretty cool, I guess. Or where it’s pretty unique.”

Cogliano made his NHL debut Oct. 4, 2007, with the Edmonton Oilers — coincidentally, it was against the Sharks — and the 30-year-old hasn’t missed a game since.

Doug Jarvis holds the NHL record for most consecutive games played at 964.

Cogliano, who rarely discusses the streak publicly, led the short-handed Ducks in scoring with nine points (three goals, six assists) entering Saturday’s game.

Anaheim center Ryan Kesler (hip surgery) has not played this season, and the Ducks also are missing No. 1 center Ryan Getzlaf (facial injury), top-six forward Patrick Eaves (Guillain-Barre syndrome) and No. 1 defenseman Cam Fowler (knee).

Cogliano’s work ethic and conditioning are legendary across the league — Ducks teammate Chris Wagner called him a “freak” when asked by reporters last week — but he also acknowledged that luck played a large part in his Iron Man streak.

Not only has Cogliano avoided serious injury or illness throughout his career, but he also stayed in the lineup during his first four seasons in the league with the struggling Oilers.

Florida Panthers defenseman Keith Yandle (653) has the next longest active consecutive games streak.

“There could have been games where the coach just didn’t want to play me, wanting to healthy scratch different guys. I was never that guy,” Cogliano said. “As I keep playing, I hope that continues. And I just want to be someone, a guy the coaches want in because they think you’ll help the team.”

No deal

Colorado’s Matt Duchene has been on the trading block for most of 2017, and the Ottawa Senators have been aggressive in their pursuit of the 26-year-old center.

But a three-way deal among the Avalanche, Senators and Nashville Predators fell through late Friday, according to multiple reports.

The proposed trade would have sent Duchene to Ottawa, center Kyle Turris to Nashville and multiple prospects or draft picks to the Avalanche.

It appears Colorado general manager Joe Sakic finally is ready to move Duchene, who has three goals and five assists in 12 games. The Senators likely will continue to pursue the two-time All Star, and the Predators remain in search of offensive help.

Nashville, which reached the Stanley Cup final last season, is tied for 29th in goals per game (2.54).

Meanwhile, James Neal leads the Golden Knights with seven goals. Just sayin’.

Big B Back

New Jersey Devils forward Brian Boyle, who was diagnosed with chronic myeloid leukemia at the start of training camp, made his season debut Wednesday in a 2-0 victory over Vancouver.

The 6-foot-6-inch, 245-pound Boyle has no points in two games after signing a two-year contract as a free agent this summer.

He is playing on the left wing with center Pavel Zacha (6-3, 210) and Jimmy Hayes (6-5, 215) and also features on the Devils’ No. 2 power-play unit.

“I’m just trying to play my best, really,” Boyle told The Record of Bergen County, New Jersey. “I’m trying to get better like I always have. The league seems to get faster every year, and I try to get faster every year. I’m not falling behind anymore.”

Contact David Schoen at dschoen@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-5203. Follow @DavidSchoenLVRJ on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Golden Edge: Karlsson Scores First Goal; Knights Beat Sabres
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Knights On 4-1 Win Against Buffalo
The Golden Knights react to their first win after the road trip against the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Golden Edge: Knights Win Third Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond and Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen go over the Knights 7-2 win over the L.A. Kings.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Golden Edge: Vegas Fans Show their Love at Fan Fest
Bryan Salmond is on the red carpet at the downtown Las Vegas Events Center as the 2018-2019 Golden Knights show up for Fan Fest.
Golden Edge: Knights Back From Colorado
Golden Knights reporters Adam Hill and Ben Gotz talk about Knights preseason training camp and how Max Pacioretty is fitting in with the Knights.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 17, 2018
Ben Gotz answers questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Win First Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond, David Schoen, Ben Gotz and Adam hill recap the Golden Knights first preseason game win against the Arizona Coyotes.
Golden Edge: First Practice
Adam Hill and David Schoen discuss the first day of practice for the Golden Knights.
Golden Knights Presser Max Pacioretty
Max Pacioretty speaks about his first impressions coming to the Vegas Golden Knights.
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like