Knights’ Game 1 playoff win was monumental but not a first in Las Vegas

Updated April 14, 2018 - 4:20 pm

It has been a season of firsts for the Golden Knights, and so a lot of people were referring to the team’s 1-0 victory over the Los Angeles Kings on Wednesday at T-Mobile Arena as the first playoff game of the four major sports to be played in Las Vegas.

Which isn’t true.

On May 3, 1992, the Portland Trail Blazers defeated the Los Angeles Lakers 102-76 at the Thomas & Mack Center to close out a first-round NBA Western Conference playoff series.

The game was moved to Las Vegas on short notice during the Los Angeles riots stemming from the Rodney King beating incident and the jury trial in which four Los Angeles police officers were acquitted.

Review-Journal colleague Steve Carp, who covered the game, said he doesn’t recall Jack Nicholson being in attendance.

“But it seems to me there may have been some ordinary celebrities there — like Dyan Cannon,” Carp said.

Las Vegas Events president Pat Christenson was director of the Thomas & Mack Center when hasty arrangements were made.

“I remember being in (former UNLV president) Bob Maxson’s office and getting a call from Claire Rothman (general manager and vice president of the Los Angeles Forum) literally 48 hours before they made the decision,” Christenson recalled.

“We did the deal in a hurry. It was pretty easy putting on a basketball game (at short notice), although an NBA playoff game was probably a little more difficult. The big thing was putting tickets on sale. I think we sold 15,000 in 36 hours.”

Christenson has a memory like an elephant.

The game attracted a crowd of 15,478 — not a sellout but impressive given the lack of notice.

It also showed Las Vegas might have been ready for pro sports as early as 1992, which was three years before Knights defenseman Shea Theodore, who scored the winning goal Wednesday, was born.

0:03

— That giant Knight’s head through which the home side now skates as it comes onto the ice at T-Mobile Arena is pretty awesome. But I’ve still got to go with “Mozilla” by the slimmest of margins when it comes to local sports props born of ingenuity and creativity and one too many Vodka Red Bulls at the frat house.

Mozilla was this humongous cardboard cutout thing with flapping arms that was used at UNLV basketball games to distract opposing free-throw shooters. It was the Rebellion student section’s tribute to Mike Moser, a star power forward for the Rebels before he transferred to Washington and then to Oregon.

I called it the “Barry Bonds of fat heads.”

Mozilla was the biggest fat head-type thing I had ever laid eyes on.

Until Khem Kong.

Khem Kong was an even more monstrous free-throw distractor inspired by Moser’s successor, Khem Birch (now with the Orlando Magic). It didn’t have as many movable parts. But I’m told it was responsible for creating at least two pagan religions, and may now be dating the Statue of Liberty wearing the Knights’ jersey in the harbor at New York-New York.

— There weren’t as many Los Angeles hockey sweaters with Kings fans inside roaming Toshiba Plaza and T-Mobile Arena before and during Games 1 and 2 of the playoffs. Part of the reason might be that Knights’ playoff tickets are some of the most sought-after/expensive in the NHL — according to the online ticket marketplace Vivid Seats, the average price for a Knights’ playoff ticket is $289, an increase of 137 percent over regular-season tickets.

At those prices, Kings fans might have decided waiting for Game 3 at Staples Center was the better option.

The only NHL team with a more dramatic increase in playoff ticket price is Winnipeg, at 182 percent. Nashville (114), Columbus (113) and Toronto (91) are next after the Knights.

But nobody seems to be complaining about getting gouged at the turnstile metal detectors.

A decent seat to see Cher at Park Theater just a clearing pass down the plaza costs $270.64, and if you ask me, William Karlsson had a much better season.

— RJ sports writer Justin Emerson, when asked if he had seen the Golden Knights play at T-Mobile Arena:

“I was there on $14 Beer Night.”

Contact Ron Kantowski at rkantowski@reviewjournal.com or 702-383-0352. Follow @ronkantowski on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Alex Tuch reacts to his new contract
Vegas Golden Knights right wing Alex Tuch reacts to his new contract with the team and explains what his goals are.
Golden Edge: VGK Practice 10-18-2018
Adam Hill, David Schoen, and Ben Gotz discuss the Golden Knights practice, Deryk Engelland's status, and Tomas Hyka's path to the team
Golden Knights Talk To Media After Thursday Practice
Golden Knights talk to media in the locker room after practice on Thursday.
Gallant Talks After Practice On Thursday
Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant goes over how the lines are developing at practice.
Gerard Gallant On Win Against Sabres
Gerard Gallant talks after practice about the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres and the teams overall performance.
Cody Eakin On His Personal Improvement As A Golden Knight
Cody Eakin talks about his improvement as a Golden Knight this season and the work he put in over the summer.
Golden Edge: Knights Mood Improved After Win Against Sabres
Adam Hill, David Schoen and Ben Gotz go over how the Golden Knights are feeling after their win against the Buffalo Sabres while Alex Tuch gets a workout on the ice.
Golden Edge: Karlsson Scores First Goal; Knights Beat Sabres
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Knights On 4-1 Win Against Buffalo
The Golden Knights react to their first win after the road trip against the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
ad-infeed_1
ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like