weather icon Clear

CLASS 3A HONORS: McKeever sweeps MVP awards

Choosing a Most Valuable Player from Boulder City’s softball team couldn’t have been an easy task.
Both catcher Taylor McKeever and pitcher Karlee Koopman had credentials worthy of the award.
Faced with choosing only one, coaches tabbed McKeever. The junior was recently named Class 3A state and Southern League MVP.
“She was just outstanding,” Eagles coach Bruce Reid said. “We didn’t have anyone hitting the ball that hard, and moving from shortstop to catcher, she was just great with her athletic ability and knowledge of the game.”
McKeever batted .542 with three home runs and 59 RBIs this season.
Koopman was a dominant force in the circle, going 25-5 with a 1.34 ERA and 165 strikeouts in 151 innings. The junior also hit .456 with five homers and 33 RBIs.
Koopman was a first-team all-state pick.
The battery led Boulder City to a 30-6 season and a third-place finish in the 3A state playoffs.
The Eagles also landed junior first baseman Ali Rants and junior outfielder Jeanette McQuillan on the all-state first team.
Second-team all-state honors went to Boulder City senior second baseman Ariel O’Neill, senior outfielder Bree Morang and sophomore third baseman/pitcher Alex Frye, along with Moapa Valley sophomore infielder Hanna Leavitt and Virgin Valley junior pitcher Halle Wakefield.
State Coach of the Year went to Churchill County’s Phil Pinder, who guided the Greenwave to the 3A state title.
The all-league first team included McKeever, Rants, O’Neill, Morang, McQuillan, Leavitt, Koopman, Frye and Wakefield, as well as Virgin Valley senior infielder Madison Bowler, Moapa Valley senior infielder Samantha Mora and Virgin Valley sophomore outfielder Lexi Barnum.
Reid was voted league Coach of the Year after guiding the Eagles to an 8-0 run through league play and the league tournament title.

Class 3A All-State
First Team
C–Dana Pardovich, Lowry; IF–Melissa Smith, South Tahoe; Jenny Rechel, Churchill County; Ali Rants, Boulder City; Angelica Lujano, Elko. OF–Tricia Ogle, Elko; Jeanette McQuillan, Boulder City; Cassie Bell, Churchill County. UTIL/DH–Ali Lostra, Elko. P–Karlee Koopman, Boulder City; MacKenzie Cole, Dayton; Jill Pinder, Churchill County.
Second Team
C–Chelsea Smitten, Churchill County. IF–Alex Gowan, Spring Creek; Madi Estes, Spring Creek; Ariel O’Neill, Boulder City; Chelsea Rivera, Fernley. OF–Bree Morang, Boulder City; Kelsey Walsh, Fernley; Jenae Neu, Lowry. UTIL/DH–Hanna Leavitt, Moapa Valley. P–Jordan Garcia, Spring Creek; Alex Frye, Boulder City; Halle Wakefield, Virgin Valley.
Most Valuable Player – Taylor McKeever, Boulder City.
Coach of the Year – Phil Pinder, Churchill County.
Class 3A All-Southern League
First Team
C–McKeever, Boulder City. IF–Rants, Boulder City; Madison Bowler, Virgin Valley; Samantha Mora, Moapa Valley; O’Neill, Boulder City. OF–Morang, Boulder City; McQuillan, Boulder City; Lexi Barnum, Virgin Valley. UTIL/DH–Leavitt, Moapa Valley. P–Koopman, Boulder City; Frye, Boulder City; Wakefield, Virgin Valley.
Second Team
C–Cassidy Crandall, Virgin Valley. IF–Alora Bonner, Virgin Valley; Kasey Ochoa, Boulder City; Gabby Paongo, Virgin Valley; Tiffany Houston, Moapa Valley. OF–Rachel Dalley, Moapa Valley; Summer Owens, Moapa Valley; Shayla Bennett, Boulder City. UTIL/DH–Taylor Barton, Boulder City. P–Haley Causey, Moapa Valley; Hailey Neilson, Moapa Valley.
Most Valuable Player – Taylor McKeever, Boulder City.
Coach of the Year – Bruce Reid, Boulder City.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
2019 Best of Nevada Preps Awards — VIDEO

Find out the winners of the male and female athletes of the year, the coach and team of the year, winners of each sport’s athlete and coach of the year, and two special awards.

Cougars’ Ashley Ward earns Gatorade honor

The senior is the second consecutive Coronado player to earn the Gatorade Nevada Player of the Year award, joining former teammate Tatum Spangler.

All-state teams to be announced in June

All-state teams in all eight spring sports will be released one per day, beginning on June 6 with boys golf.