weather icon Clear
RJ App
Vegas News, Alerts, ePaper

Las Vegas Ballpark hosting Triple-A baseball championships

Updated September 29, 2022 - 12:26 pm

While the Las Vegas Aviators’ season has come to an end, there is still baseball to be played at Las Vegas Ballpark.

The facility will host the inaugural Triple-A Triple Championship Weekend, with three games over three days beginning Friday.

“This new playoff system to determine an overall champion will create an exciting finish to the Triple-A season,” Major League Baseball Executive Vice President of Baseball Operations Morgan Sword said in a statement.

In the new format, the two division winners from each Triple-A league, the Pacific Coast and International, will play in a single-elimination championship game. The winners from each game will advance and play for the Triple-A championship.

The PCL championship game will take place Friday. The PCL West champion Reno Aces, Triple-A affiliate of the Arizona Diamondbacks, will face the PCL East champion El Paso Chihuahuas (San Diego Padres) at 7:05 p.m.

On Saturday, the International League will play its championship game. The IL East and reigning Triple-A champion Durham Bulls (Tampa Bay Rays) will play the IL West champion Nashville Sound (Milwaukee Brewers) at 6:05 p.m.

The winners will play in the Triple-A title game at 4:05 p.m. Sunday.

“It will be great to bring our Triple-A brethren together and crown a champion in this new and exciting format,” Aviators president Don Logan said in a news release.

Tickets can be purchased through the Aviators’ website with prices as low as $15 for each day.

Contact Alex Wright at awright@reviewjournal.com. Follow @AlexWright1028 on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
MLB commissioner to A’s: Get ballpark deal done

The Oakland Athletics, which have been exploring a move to Las Vegas, risk losing their exemption from a revenue-sharing program if they don’t have a deal by 2024.

Hall of Famer pitcher Gaylord Perry dies at 84

The native of Williamston, North Carolina, made history as the first player to win the Cy Young in both leagues, with Cleveland in 1972 and San Diego in 1978.