Golden Knights take Cody Glass with first NHL Entry Draft pick

Updated June 23, 2017 - 11:23 pm

CHICAGO — They got the player they wanted.

The Golden Knights, looking for a scoring center with their first selection as a franchise in the NHL Entry Draft, had the chance to take the player some hockey insiders say could be one of the best of this draft.

Cody Glass, an 18-year-old who had 94 points for the Portland Winter Hawks last season, had his name called by Knights general manager George McPhee on Friday as the NHL’s newest team unveiled the No. 6 overall pick at the United Center to a mixture of cheers and boos.

“I’m excited,” Glass said. “It’s an honor to be the first player picked, and I really liked the people in the Vegas organization. They made me feel very comfortable. They showed a lot of interest, and they were open and pleasant. I can’t wait to get there.”

He won’t have long to wait. The team’s development camp begins Tuesday at the Las Vegas Ice Center, and Glass plans to participate. So will Nick Suzuki, a 17-year-old center from the Owen Sound Attack who was taken at No. 13 with the pick the Knights obtained from Columbus through Winnipeg in the expansion draft.

Also expected to skate next week is Erik Brannstrom, a 17-year-old defenseman from Sweden whom the Knights picked at No. 15 with the selection they obtained from the New York Islanders as part of the expansion draft agreement to not take several specific Islanders players who were left unprotected.

“I thought (overall) it went really well,” McPhee said. “We got two skilled centers and a skilled defenseman. We wound up getting the guys we wanted to get.

“We were extremely well prepared for this. We had a whole year to get ready, and we made three solid picks in the first round.”

McPhee said Glass, a strong skater with a high hockey IQ and a deadly accurate shot, was the player they had pegged at No. 6. He said the team was prepared to trade up to get Glass.

But when Colorado and Vancouver chose defensemen and left Glass available, they quickly turned in his name, went to the stage and gave him a white Golden Knights sweater and black team hat.

“It’s very cool,” Glass said of the jersey he was still sporting in the interview area. “I saw it at the expansion draft, and it’s amazing.”

In 69 games with the Western Hockey League’s Winter Hawks last season, Glass had 32 goals and 62 assists. The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native represented Canada in the World Junior Championships last winter and had two goals and one assist in three games.

“He was in our top five,” McPhee said. “We thought there was a bit of a drop-off after six, so we had that layer there. But we got him. He’s super smart. Super skilled. We’re trying to find those elite skilled centers.”

Glass said he patterns his game after the Winnipeg Jets’ Mark Scheifele. When asked about that, McPhee said: “That’s a fair comparison.”

Suzuki had 45 goals and 96 points last season in the Ontario Hockey League.

He’s a fast skater, and McPhee said he wants speed and quickness. He also can pass and is tough to knock off the puck. Like Glass, Suzuki has a high hockey IQ, and though he’s only 5 feet 11 inches tall, he doesn’t back away from physical confrontations.

“It’s not every day you get picked by an expansion team,” Suzuki said. “It was an amazing feeling hearing my name called, and I’m very happy to be with Vegas. I thought with all the moves they made, I thought I could go in that range, but you’re never too sure.”

Brannstrom, who played last season in Sweden, said he sees an opportunity by going to an expansion team.

“It’s been a good year for me,” he said. “I went up to 20, then 18 playing against older players. I hope to put more weight on me, get stronger and work on my shot.”

Despite being 5-9, he said his size won’t deter his quest to play in the NHL.

“There’s more and more smaller ‘D’ in the NHL, so that could be good for me,” Brannstrom said.

As happy as the Knights were with the picks, they won’t rush them to the NHL.

“We’e going to be patient,” McPhee said. “If we have any holes to fill, we’ll fill them with free agents.”

Contact Steve Carp at scarp@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-913. Follow @stevecarprj on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Cody Eakin On His Personal Improvemnt As A Golden Knight
Cody Eakin talks about his improvement as a Golden Knight this season and the work he put in over the summer.
Golden Edge: Knights Mood Improved After Win Against Sabres
Adam Hill, David Schoen and Ben Gotz go over how the Golden Knights are feeling after their win against the Buffalo Sabres while Alex Tuch gets a workout on the ice.
Golden Edge: Karlsson Scores First Goal; Knights Beat Sabres
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Knights On 4-1 Win Against Buffalo
The Golden Knights react to their first win after the road trip against the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Golden Edge: Knights Win Third Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond and Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen go over the Knights 7-2 win over the L.A. Kings.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Golden Edge: Vegas Fans Show their Love at Fan Fest
Bryan Salmond is on the red carpet at the downtown Las Vegas Events Center as the 2018-2019 Golden Knights show up for Fan Fest.
Golden Edge: Knights Back From Colorado
Golden Knights reporters Adam Hill and Ben Gotz talk about Knights preseason training camp and how Max Pacioretty is fitting in with the Knights.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 17, 2018
Ben Gotz answers questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Win First Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond, David Schoen, Ben Gotz and Adam hill recap the Golden Knights first preseason game win against the Arizona Coyotes.
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like