Las Vegas woman grateful for life, haunted by Route 91 shooting

Kimbur Presmyk hadn’t been sleeping well — or at all, really — since the Route 91 Harvest festival on Oct. 1.

The sound of gunshots. The sight of injured concertgoers. The mental images of country music fans who wouldn’t return home. Although Presmyk considers herself blessed that neither she nor her boyfriend, Stephen Lehtinen, a Metropolitan Police Department sergeant, was injured, she couldn’t erase it from her mind.

Three days after the festival, in hopes of coming to grips with it all, Presmyk began writing her story and shared it a day later on Facebook.

Presmyk was amazed by the supportive response. More importantly, she’s gratified that her story offers another perspective on that terrifying night and highlights the humanity that shone in the thick of madness.

Presmyk and Lehtinen, both 51 and divorced, have known each other for 10 years. They met when their daughters were going to school together and even dated for a few years, but broke up and “remained really good friends,” Presmyk said.

They began dating again just over a year ago. They’re country music fans and, had things gone differently, her most vivid memory of the concert would have been Big & Rich’s performance of “God Bless America.”

“Oh my God, phones were held up with lights, and it was just this whole sense of camaraderie and peace and love,” Presmyk said. “It was just a really good vibe.”

The couple were standing between the VIP tent and a bar as Jason Aldean performed his final set. They heard the loud bangs.

“We looked at each other and he goes, ‘Was that gunfire?’ We look up and, honestly, we thought it was fireworks. Everybody thought it was fireworks,” Presmyk said. “So you’re looking up, looking for big explosions and lights in the sky, and I’m like, ‘Where is everything?’”

Lehtinen knew immediately. “He said, ‘We need to go. We need to go now.’ ”

They began to run, making it to a bar tent where they huddled with others.

“Time went into slow motion, and it was super-surreal,” Presmyk said. “I’m just looking around, knowing I’m in shock, and another series of gunfire starts. (Lehtinen) grabs me by the arm, and we look for a place to just not be in the open in that tent … and we crouched down there until that series (of shots) ended.”

Presmyk couldn’t get through to 911. Hoping that someone would see it, she posted a hurried message on Facebook: “Open fire from mandalay bay room 10th floor route 91.”

Lehtinen and Presmyk were able to lead a few other people out of the tent’s back side. Presmyk, still unable to get through to 911, followed Lehtinen’s instructions to call a private police line and report what’s going on.

Presmyk writes: He asks me again if I’m ok, if I’ve got this. I tell him I am and I do. He says, “You know I have to go back out there right? I can’t stay here. They need my help.” I shake my head yes. He gives me a kiss and runs back out into hell.

After he left, Presmyk noticed a young woman recording the shooting on her cellphone. “I’m like, are you kidding me?’ ” Presmyk said. “Put your phone down. I’m looking at her and she just rolled her eyes at me.

“I just snap. ‘Put your (expletive) phone down and get here,’ and she ignored me. I go, ‘If you’re going to shoot video, you get 40 feet away from me.’

“I was just so appalled by that. You’re more concerned about videotaping all the horror than you are about your own life. That stuck with me because I still can’t wrap my head around people doing that.”

Presmyk made another call, this one to her daughter, Breana, 20. “I said, ‘No matter what happens, I love you.’ “

When Lehtinen returned, it was with a group of people including an off-duty police officer who was shot in the neck. A T-shirt had been tied around the neck of the man, who insisted that the wound wasn’t that bad.

“He said it like a badass,” Presmyk said. “So I’ve been referring to him as Officer Badass.”

After Lehtinen left again, Presmyk — who vowed that she’d wait there for him to return — helped comfort a woman searching for her son.

Presmyk writes: She’s crying, hysterical. I just hug her. Tell her he’ll find her son. We walk down the passageway behind the bleachers behind the bbq pit and I find some boxes for her to sit on. She asks if they’re full of garbage, I say “probably” … She laughs and sits down, I sit next to her. … (We) sit on those boxes, holding hands, talking like old friends. I can’t recall any of our conversation to this day.

A little less than two hours after the initial gunshots, Presmyk continued to wait. When others passed by and asked her to join them, she demurred, concerned that Lehtinen would return for her and she wouldn’t be there.

“I was not going to have him look for me when he was dealing with all of this,” she said.

Finally, Lehtinen returned. “I would have waited all night,” Presmyk said. “He just held me and hugged me. I started crying. I’ve never been so relieved to see somebody’s face before.”

Eventually, Presmyk got a ride with a friend — they had parked at Luxor, which by then was in lockdown — and finally made it home.

Life has changed since the shootings. Her daughter “comes in to make sure I’m OK all the time,” she said, while her son, Chance, 18, “texts me every day.”

Presmyk said that, while she never was fond of crowds, she never felt scared in them. That’s not true now, and though she expects that to ease with time, she’s not sure the feeling ever will disappear.

She wrote on her Facebook account “more for me, to try to get it out of my head … because, obviously, I’m having a little bit of trouble coping with this.”

But she’s pleased that readers have said her story is helping to “make it more real” to others.

“I’m honored I was able to convey that. I want people to understand it was not just the terror, it was the humanity that everybody showed.”

Presmyk has a friend who called herself a coward for doing nothing more than huddling with strangers and comforting them as the bullets flew.

“I was like, ‘No, you weren’t. You didn’t stop a bullet for somebody, but you were there for a human being you didn’t know.’ People don’t realize what they did for each other. It’s just taking a stranger’s hand or praying with her.”

Contact John Przybys at reviewjournal.com or 702-383-0280. Follow @JJPrzybys on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Local
Camp Broadway teaches kids how to sing and dance
The Smith Center's seventh annual Camp Broadway musical theater program gives 150 kids ages 6-17 an opportunity to learn musical theater skills from industry professionals over a five-day period. Marcus Villagran/ Las Vegas Review-Journal @brokejournalist
Restoring classic Corvettes to perfection
Members of the National Corvette Restorers Society Convention talk about what it takes to earn the NCRS Top Flight Award for a restored Corvette at South Point in Las Vegas on Tuesday July 17, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Watch Ruthless! at Las Vegas Little Theatre
The musical Ruthless! will be playing at Las Vegas Little Theatre from July 13-29. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Cadaver art and sword swallowing at The Dark Arts Market
Curator Erin Emrie talks about her inspiration for The Dark Arts Market at Cornish Pasty Co. in Las Vegas Tuesday, July 10, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
'NO H8' Campaign comes to Las Vegas
Hundreds of locals participate in the NO H8 campaign founded by Adam Bouska and Jeff Parshley as a response to Proposition 8, a California ban on same-sex marriage. The campaign has since evolved to represent equal treatment for all. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
What to expect at Station Casinos' Fourth of July celebration
Station Casinos' is hosting its annual 4th of July celebration with Fireworks by Grucci. Fireworks scheduled to go off on Wednesday, July 4 around 9 p.m. at Green Valley Ranch Resort, Red Rock Resort, Fiesta Rancho and Texas Station. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Star Wars and Golden Knights mashup at downtown art shop
Star Wars and Vegas Golden Knights fans attend the Boba Fett Golden Knight Paint Class at The Bubblegum Gallery in Las Vegas, Friday, June 29, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Tourists and locals enjoy Independence Day fireworks at Caesars Palace
Hundreds of tourists and locals gaze at the Independence Day fireworks show at Caesars Palace on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Clark County recount votes in commission’s District E primary
Clark County staff begin the recount requested by candidate Marco Hernandez in the democratic primary for the County Commission's District E seat on Tuesday, June 26, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Long-running local hip hop producer wants Vegas rappers to shine
Las Vegas Hip Hop producer and co-owner of Digital Insight Recording Studios Tiger Stylz reflects on 30 years of music production in the city. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
"Pawn Stars" fans visit Richard Harrison's memorial at Gold & Silver Pawn
"Pawn Stars" fans from around the world visit the Gold & Silver Pawn Shop in Las Vegas following the passing of Richard "Old Man" Harrison on Monday, June 25, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Construction for new 51s ballpark underway
New home of the Las Vegas 51s is planned to be finished by March 2019 in Summerlin according to team president Don Logan. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Underground home was built as Cold War-era hideaway
The underground house at 3970 Spencer Street is one of the valley’s most unusual homes built 26 feet underground in 1978 by Girard “Jerry” B. Henderson, who, planned to survive the end of the world there.
Lip Smacking Foodie Tours takes you where the locals go
Donald Contursi talks about Lip Smacking Foodie Tours, which offers walking tours of restaurants on and off Las Vegas Boulevard with food samples and tidbits of history about the places they visit.
Crime
Las Vegas judge’s ruling will halt tonight’s execution
On Wednesday Judge Elizabeth Gonzalez issued a ruling that will halt the execution of convicted murderer Scott Dozier. Alvogen Inc., which makes the sedative midazolam, filed a lawsuit Tuesday accusing the Nevada Department of Corrections of surreptitiously obtaining the drug for use in an execution.
3 people shot in southeast Las Vegas
Three men were shot Thursday night in southeast Las Vegas, and two of them have life threatening injuries. Las Vegas police responded to the incident just after 10 p.m. on the 5000 block of Mountain Vista Street. The investigation is in its early stages and police were unable to describe the suspect or say how man people they think were involved. Police encourage anyone with information regarding this shooting to call Crime Stoppers at 702-385-5555, or 3-1-1
Robbery suspects apprehended
Four robbery suspects were taken into custody Thursday morning after a vehicle and foot chase that ended in an east Las Vegas neighborhood. The incident began when a person was robbed at gunpoint around 4:45 a.m. near Maryland Parkway and Desert Inn. Officers arriving at the scene tried to stop two vehicles. One vehicle escaped but police chased the second into a neighborhood on Flamingo Road near Mountain Vista Street. Police surrounded the neighborhood and the suspects were apprehended. It looked like one police vehicle was involved in a collision with the suspects' car. One woman suffered an unknown injury and was taken to the hospital in an ambulance. 01:04
Las Vegas police looking for robbery suspects
Two robbers who recently targeted three Las Vegas businesses remained at large Tuesday and police are asking the public to help identify them. (Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department)
Metro Capt. Jaime Prosser gives update of officer-involved shooting
Metro Capt. Jaime Prosser provides an update about an officer-involved shooting at Radwick Drive and Owens Avenue in the northeast Las Vegas on Thursday. A robbery suspect was shot and killed. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
LVMPD Looking For Robbery Suspect
The LVMPD Commercial Robbery Section is attempting to identify the pictured suspect who is responsible for committing robberies to businesses in the southern part of the Las Vegas Valley during the month of May 2018. The suspect enters the business, threatens the employee with a firearm and demands money from the register. The employee complies and the suspect flees the business.
North Las Vegas police are investigating a triple shooting that left one man dead
North Las Vegas police are investigating a triple shooting that left one man dead at 2500 block of Ellis St., on Friday, June 8, 2018. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
1 dead in shooting at southwest Las Vegas home
A dispute between roommates led to the fatal shooting of one man in the backyard of their southwest Las Vegas Valley home on Monday, April 23, 2018. (Rio Lacanlale/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Life
Camp Broadway teaches kids how to sing and dance
The Smith Center's seventh annual Camp Broadway musical theater program gives 150 kids ages 6-17 an opportunity to learn musical theater skills from industry professionals over a five-day period. Marcus Villagran/ Las Vegas Review-Journal @brokejournalist
Las Vegas police officer on being PETA's Sexiest Vegan Next Door
Las Vegas police officer David Anthony talks vegan lifestyle and how he feels about being voted PETA's sexiest Vegan next door from his home on Monday, July 9, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
'NO H8' Campaign comes to Las Vegas
Hundreds of locals participate in the NO H8 campaign founded by Adam Bouska and Jeff Parshley as a response to Proposition 8, a California ban on same-sex marriage. The campaign has since evolved to represent equal treatment for all. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Star Wars and Golden Knights mashup at downtown art shop
Star Wars and Vegas Golden Knights fans attend the Boba Fett Golden Knight Paint Class at The Bubblegum Gallery in Las Vegas, Friday, June 29, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Bark-Andre Furry meets Capitals superfan Ovie the Bulldog
Two of NHL's furriest fans met at the Forum Shops in Caesars Palace on Tuesday, June 18, 2018, in Las Vegas. Vegas Golden Knights superfan Bark-Andre Furry and Washington Capitals superfan Ovie the Bulldog shared a plate of meatballs and spaghetti with help from Logan, "The Girl with the Hat." (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like