weather icon Clear

Oldest winners of the WSOP Main Event

It’s rare for a player over the age of 50 to make a deep run in the World Series of Poker’s Main Event.

But that wasn’t always the case, as experience used to rule in the tournament.

Here are the five oldest Main Event champions:

Johnny Moss

“The Grand Old Man of Poker” was 66 when he won his third career Main Event title in 1974, and the Texas native remains the oldest champion to date.

Noel Furlong

A successful businessman in Ireland, the 61-year-old Furlong outlasted a star-studded final table to win the 1999 Main Event and $1 million first prize.

Hossein Ensan

At 55, Ensan was the oldest Main Event champion since Furlong when he captured the 2019 title. He is one of two Germans to win the event.

Hal Fowler

Recognized as the first amateur to win the Main Event, Fowler’s 1979 victory at 52 has been called by many the greatest upset in the tournament’s history.

Jack Straus

Nicknamed “Treetop,” his comeback victory in the 1982 Main Event at 51 is credited as the inspiration for the famous poker phrase “a chip and a chair.”

Contact David Schoen at dschoen@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-5203. Follow @DavidSchoenLVRJ on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Welcome to the poker table, kid

On her first visit to the poker table at a Las Vegas casino, a 21-year-old finds herself holding all the cards.

6 must-watch movies about poker

Poker has been depicted in films for more than a century, whether it’s cowboys in the saloons or James Bond. Here are six must-watch poker films.