Owner of Grape Expectations opens Las Vegas’ first winery

Charlie Peters, who was in food and beverage at Caesars Palace and a certified sommelier, and wife Patty were thinking about starting a business, maybe opening a bar, when they went to New Jersey shortly after the millennium.

They were visiting Charlie’s friends, one of whom told them his brother had a business where people came in to make wine. Wondering, Patty said, “How good could that be?” they scheduled a tour with Lou Sodano, owner of The Wine Experience in Monmouth, N.J.

“We walked in and saw the barrels,” she said. “You can’t take your eyes off of them. Every dream (we’ve) ever had was right there. When Charlie saw what Lou was doing, he knew that was what he wanted to do.”

Returning to Las Vegas, they discovered one problem: It was against the law in Nevada. So they started making wine in their back yard shed. “So we had quite a few parties,” Patty said. “And the wine wasn’t the best, but it didn’t matter.”

Around 2002, they started working to change the law. Their attorney suggested they reach out to people they knew, so they contacted a lobbyist, who led them to Mike Schneider, who was in the Nevada Senate. Schneider told them they needed to talk to the vice president and general manager of Southern Wine & Spirits of Nevada, now Southern Glazer’s Wine & Spirits.

“If Larry Ruvo doesn’t want this to go, this isn’t going to go,” Patty remembers him saying. The two of them met with Larry and he was awesome. He said, ‘I’m going to support you. I’ll send my people down to lobby for you.’ He was awesome. He’s just been the best.”

In 2005, the law was changed, paving the way for Grape Expectations to open. It was in an industrial park off Mountain Vista Drive in Henderson until moving in 2012 to a larger facility in an industrial park on Eastgate Road, also in Henderson. They moved on Sept. 1, and on Sept. 9, Charlie died at age 58 of what she thinks was a massive heart attack. Patty, who had been the criminal history manager and system trainer for the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department, would take over the company.

“He set me up pretty good with the people he put around us,” she said: Mike Schoenbaechler, general manager and chief winemaker; K.J. Howe, professor of yeastology and director of marketing/advertising; and Chad Evans, production.

On Dec. 8, they opened the region’s first winery, Vegas Valley Winery, with a wine lounge that’s open daily. A grand-opening celebration is set for Jan. 20.

Review-Journal: How have operations changed since the founding?

Patty Peters: The whole production of winemaking has gotten better. Mike started taking classes at UC-Davis. He spends a lot of time with our growers and (in) the vineyards where we get grapes. We’re testing the wines a lot more to identify if there are issues. We’re keeping a good eye on the wine as it goes through all the stages. Mike amped up the cleanliness. It was pretty clean when Charlie had it, but Charlie was a one-man team. We got an industrial-strength steamer, to treat the barrels.

How many people have made wine at Grape Expectations?

We have between 4,000 and 5,000 winemakers at any given time. A lot of them have been making wine with us for two or more years. We have 80 to 85 percent (retention).

How has Grape Expectations fostered a sense of community?

We hear it a lot: “It was the wine that brought us in, but it’s the people who keep us coming back.” We love being here. The other part of it is people who make wine, they’re just a different breed. They leave all their woes and cares at the door when they walk in here, and they’re like kids. I don’t think most people know how much fun they are, without all that other stuff around. We’re a family. It’s a good feeling.

Why did you want the winery designation?

It just seemed like the right progression. The boys are pretty darn good at winemaking. It was time to show what they can do. Mike’s the winemaker; he’s the guy who steers the boat. Those are his wines, and they’re good. I’m just so proud of them.

Will we be seeing more Las Vegas wines?

The way they’ve written the law, it’s very difficult to start a winery in Clark County. The winery is a winery; it’s a separate business from the school. Right now we’re only selling wines by the glass and a lot of that is really the way the law was written. But maybe sometime in the near future we’ll have bottles. Right now the wine’s limited. We have five wines. We don’t want to ever run out.

What’s next?

We have nowhere to go but up. I don’t know if that means having another location. I don’t know, but I’m excited about it. I’m just watching it grow; I can’t wipe the smile off my face. But I’m not cocky yet. I don’t think I have cocky in me.

■ Newest Las Vegas discovery?

I used to go to the Bootlegger on Eastern and Trop, and then it moved and I forgot about it. K.J. and I took off one night and went over there and I rediscovered the Bootlegger. And Casa di Amore; they put in a tiki bar out back.

■ Place you always take visitors?

Casa di Amore. Or Brio at Town Square. I like walking in there and looking at those lamps and all that drapery. That’s my “Calgon, take me away” moment.

■ Personal motto?

If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.

■ Favorite vacation destination?

Ireland. Charlie and I went to Ireland.

■ Food you could eat every day?

Anything pasta. Pasta with lots of sauce.

■ Phobia?

Sticking my hand into a nest of spiders.

Contact Heidi Knapp Rinella at Hrinella@reviewjournal.com or 702-383-0474. Follow @HKRinella on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Local
Camp Broadway teaches kids how to sing and dance
The Smith Center's 7th annual Camp Broadway musical theater program gives 150 kids ranging from ages 6-17 an opportunity to learn musical theater skills from industry professionals over a five-day period. Marcus Villagran/ Las Vegas Review-Journal @brokejournalist
Watch Ruthless! at Las Vegas Little Theatre
The musical Ruthless! will be playing at Las Vegas Little Theatre from July 13-29. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Cadaver art and sword swallowing at The Dark Arts Market
Curator Erin Emrie talks about her inspiration for The Dark Arts Market at Cornish Pasty Co. in Las Vegas Tuesday, July 10, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
'NO H8' Campaign comes to Las Vegas
Hundreds of locals participate in the NO H8 campaign founded by Adam Bouska and Jeff Parshley as a response to Proposition 8, a California ban on same-sex marriage. The campaign has since evolved to represent equal treatment for all. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
What to expect at Station Casinos' Fourth of July celebration
Station Casinos' is hosting its annual 4th of July celebration with Fireworks by Grucci. Fireworks scheduled to go off on Wednesday, July 4 around 9 p.m. at Green Valley Ranch Resort, Red Rock Resort, Fiesta Rancho and Texas Station. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Star Wars and Golden Knights mashup at downtown art shop
Star Wars and Vegas Golden Knights fans attend the Boba Fett Golden Knight Paint Class at The Bubblegum Gallery in Las Vegas, Friday, June 29, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Tourists and locals enjoy Independence Day fireworks at Caesars Palace
Hundreds of tourists and locals gaze at the Independence Day fireworks show at Caesars Palace on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Clark County recount votes in commission’s District E primary
Clark County staff begin the recount requested by candidate Marco Hernandez in the democratic primary for the County Commission's District E seat on Tuesday, June 26, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Long-running local hip hop producer wants Vegas rappers to shine
Las Vegas Hip Hop producer and co-owner of Digital Insight Recording Studios Tiger Stylz reflects on 30 years of music production in the city. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
"Pawn Stars" fans visit Richard Harrison's memorial at Gold & Silver Pawn
"Pawn Stars" fans from around the world visit the Gold & Silver Pawn Shop in Las Vegas following the passing of Richard "Old Man" Harrison on Monday, June 25, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Construction for new 51s ballpark underway
New home of the Las Vegas 51s is planned to be finished by March 2019 in Summerlin according to team president Don Logan. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Underground home was built as Cold War-era hideaway
The underground house at 3970 Spencer Street is one of the valley’s most unusual homes built 26 feet underground in 1978 by Girard “Jerry” B. Henderson, who, planned to survive the end of the world there.
Lip Smacking Foodie Tours takes you where the locals go
Donald Contursi talks about Lip Smacking Foodie Tours, which offers walking tours of restaurants on and off Las Vegas Boulevard with food samples and tidbits of history about the places they visit.
Bump stock manufacturers under fire
The Justice Department said last month that it had started the process to amend federal firearms regulations to clarify that federal law defines bump stocks as machine guns.
Art Bell’s Top 10 Shows
A selection of radio host Art Bell’s most popular shows.
Entertainment
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup
The Octopus On The Las Vegas Strip Predicted The Winner Of The World Cup. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-journal)
TLC by the Numbers
Watch Ruthless! at Las Vegas Little Theatre
The musical Ruthless! will be playing at Las Vegas Little Theatre from July 13-29. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
How to feel like a kid again in Las Vegas
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall
People Lined Up For Over 5 Hours For Build-a-bear's "Pay Your Age" Promotion At Galleria Mall. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Cadaver art and sword swallowing at The Dark Arts Market
Curator Erin Emrie talks about her inspiration for The Dark Arts Market at Cornish Pasty Co. in Las Vegas Tuesday, July 10, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas
Over 40,000 People Attend The 4th Of July Parade In Summerlin In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
What to expect at Station Casinos' Fourth of July celebration
Station Casinos' is hosting its annual 4th of July celebration with Fireworks by Grucci. Fireworks scheduled to go off on Wednesday, July 4 around 9 p.m. at Green Valley Ranch Resort, Red Rock Resort, Fiesta Rancho and Texas Station. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Pawn Stars' Richard Harrison honored at memorial service
A memorial service was conducted for Richard "Old Man" Harrison at Palm Mortuary in Las Vegas on Sunday, July 1, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Tourists and locals enjoy Independence Day fireworks at Caesars Palace
Hundreds of tourists and locals gaze at the Independence Day fireworks show at Caesars Palace on Saturday, June 30, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
5 must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
Five must-see bands at Warped Tour 2018
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table.
This Banana Split In Las Vegas Is Made With Fire And Liquid Nitrogen Right At Your Table. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster
Pixar Pier At Disneyland Is Open With New Food And A New Roller Coaster (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland
Here's What It's Like To Ride The New Incredicoaster At Disneyland (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
"Pawn Stars" fans visit Richard Harrison's memorial at Gold & Silver Pawn
"Pawn Stars" fans from around the world visit the Gold & Silver Pawn Shop in Las Vegas following the passing of Richard "Old Man" Harrison on Monday, June 25, 2018. (Marcus Villagran/Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
Get a sneak peek at Palace Station's newest renovations
Station Casinos spokesperson Lori Nelson gives a first look at what Palace Station's $192 million renovation will bring. Some areas will begin opening to the public next week according to Nelson. (Marcus Villagran/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @brokejournalist
You Can Only Get The 11-pound 8-person Burger In Las Vegas
You Can Only Get The 11-pound 8-person Burger In Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Paul McCartney is worth over $1 billion
Sir Paul McCartney is one of the most celebrated and accomplished musicians in history. He just turned 76 on June 18. McCartney grew to international fame with the Beatles and went on to become a wildly successful solo musician. Paul McCartney’s net worth is estimated at $1.2 billion, according to Celebrity Net Worth. In 2017, McCartney landed the No. 13 spot on Forbes’ list of the world’s highest-paid musicians, earning $54 million for the year. On Thursday, June 20, McCartney will release a double A-side single featuring two new songs, "I Don't Know" and "Come On to Me." McCartney has yet to announce a title of his new album or when it will be released. Th album is expected to be released before he headlines the Austin City Limits Music fest in October.
Bellagio's New Conservatory Brings Italian Summer To Las Vegas
Bellagio's New Conservatory Brings Italian Summer To Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Kari Curletto of Las Vegas put over 500 hours into making her toilet paper wedding dress. (Courtesy Kari Curletto)
Kari Curletto of Las Vegas put over 500 hours into making her toilet paper wedding dress. (Courtesy Kari Curletto)
The Real Crepe In Las Vegas Serves Authentic Crepes In The Style Of Brittany, France
The Real Crepe In Las Vegas Serves Authentic Crepes In The Style Of Brittany, France. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-journal)
New Marilyn Musical Brings Screen Icons Life To Strip
Paris Las Vegas hosts musical bio featuring new, old tunes. (Carol Cling Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vegas' hottest concerts of the summer
Vegas' hottest concerts of the summer
We Taste-tested The Best Doughnut Shops In Las Vegas
We Taste-tested The Best Doughnut Shops In Las Vegas. (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
5 must-see bands at Punk Rock Bowling 2018
5 must-see bands at Punk Rock Bowling 2018
Gabi Coffee & Bakery Is Like A Korean Speakeasy From The 1920s
Gabi Coffee & Bakery Is Like A Korean Speakeasy From The 1920s (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Five must-see acts at the Electric Daisy Carnival 2018
Five must-see acts at the Electric Daisy Carnival 2018
The "13 Reasons Why" mustang cruises down the Las Vegas Strip (Courtesy Netflix)
4 fun and fascinating museums in Las Vegas
U2 in Vegas through the years
U2 in Vegas through the years
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
ad-infeed_1
ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like